Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian

 

Responsible Literature Searching: Find It@MCG

RLS Home

Intro to Lit Searching
Searching Techniques
Database Overviews
Points to Remember
Liaison Page
Module Quiz

Core Databases
MEDLINE
CINAHL
Module Quiz
Evidence-Based Practice
PICO Model
Cochrane Databases
Point of Care Resources
Module Quiz
Medical References
eBooks
Micromedex Overview
Micromedex Disease
Module Quiz
Citation Searching
Web of Knowledge
Journal Citation Reports
Related Article Search
Module Quiz
Drug References
Drug Safety Overview
Micromedex Resources
TOXNET Databases
PubChem
Module Quiz
Desktop Article Access
Find It@MCG
eJournals
Module Quiz
References & Credits

Desktop Access to Full-Text Articles 

There are two levels of online full-text access to journal articles.

  1. Subscribed journals requiring Library user authentication on and off-campus:

    • Mission-critical journals licensed by the Greenblatt Library

    • Online journals licensed in conjunction with other Georgia research libraries (UGA, Emory, etc.)

    • Full-text articles within select state-licensed databases via GALILEO.

  2. Open access journals not needing authentication:

    • Free access to published scholarly research journals, including biomedicine, from any location

    • Caveat: Some journals control content by preventing access to recent articles, only allowing viewing after several months to several years.

Look for the FindIt@MCG button which is located within major databases such as PubMed, Ovid, Web of Knowledge, and CINAHL. 

  • NOTE: Pop-up blocker must be turned off for this feature to work

FindIt@MCG button in database results

Direct access to the journal article is provided. The article will open in a new window on the right side of the screen. A menu identified by the Find It@MCG logo will open in another window on the left side of the screen.

  • NOTE: When articles are listed as "Epub ahead of print" or pre-publication and depending on the publisher, there may not be access until the article is published officially.

SFX
  • When a journal is listed in Journal Citation Reports, the impact factor is made available.

  • For journals with more than one full text option, including different dates of availability, other providers can be viewed by selecting the link to "Find It Options."

  • A link is given to report any problems.

  • For more information take a look at the Frequently Asked Questions page.

If the full-text of an article is not available, the Find It@MCG will direct you to the online catalog.

FindIt@MCG print options

If the Greenblatt Library does not have a journal article in print or online use the Document Delivery feature: McGILL

  • Low-cost service provided by the Library to support research across all published medical journals/books

  • See Request an Article/Book on the Library’s web site “Quick Links” to sign-up for an individual account to request articles or books

  • $5.00 per request for MCG or MCGHealth

  • Rush Service is available for additional $5.00 per article

  • Electronic “desktop” delivery of article directly to user

Back

Next: eJournals