Medical College of Georgia
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library
A-Z Index  |  MCG Home  |  Site Search 
Robert B. Greenblatt, M.D. Library at MCG
Home  |  About the Library  |  Resources  |  Guides for...  |  Services  |  Search  |  Ask a Librarian
Library photo
Photo by Phil Jones
  Home  >  Guides for...

Researchers

NIH Policy Access: New NIH Reporting Requirement Effective April 7, 2008

Clinical Research Databases

Responsible Literature Searching

MEDLINE via PubMed
  • Clinical Queries searches systematic reviews, clinical studies and medical genetics

  • The related articles link uses a computer algorithm to find similar articles in MEDLINE

  • PubMed links to genetic databases and medical references texts when appropriate

MEDLINE via Ovid
  • Easy to use search system, with links to full-text and library catalog to locate articles

  • Search multiple databases including Cochrane Clinical Trials, ACP Journal Club, DARE

  • EBM limits available for therapy, prognosis, diagnosis, etiology, costs, and economics

PsycInfo via Ovid
  • Psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and physiology

  • Limit search to psychology subfields such as clinical or neuropsychology

  • Publication Formats include conference proceedings, book chapters, biography

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (via Ovid)
  • Identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment

  • Measurement instruments include questionnaires, checklists, coding and rating scales, etc



Biomedical Research Databases

Web of Knowledge

Science Citation Index & Social Sciences Citation Index

  • Multidisciplinary information from 8,700 scholarly research journals

  • Use Cited Reference searches to find research influences on an author's work

  • Link to Times Cited to discover the impact of a paper on current research

Journal Citation Reports

  • Journal evaluation tool to identify publication venues for authors

  • Determine most frequently cited and highest impact journals in a field


Papers First via Galileo

  • Access to individual papers presented at conferences worldwide

Proceedings First via Galileo

  • Table of Contents for global conference proceedings

Academic Search Premier via Galileo

  • Full text database of 4,700 publications, including 3,600 peer-reviewed

  • Covers almost every area of academic study

  • Select other databases to search including:

    • Health Source Academic Edition

    • Sociological Collection

    • AGRICOLA

    • ERIC



Finding Full-Text For Articles or Books

Database Links

  • Ovid: Click on Ovid Full-Text Link, click Find It@MCG button, opens separate window

  • Web of Knowledge: Click Find It@MCG button, opens separate window

  • PubMed: Click Find It@MCG button, opens separate window

eJournal Navigator
  • Browse by journal name or subject area

  • Type key words from journal name to find specific titles

  • Check available dates before clicking on a full-text link

GIL@MCG (Library Catalog)
  • Click on Exact Search to search by journal title

  • Full-text links will be listed in the individual journal record

McGILL
  • Request journal articles not available via ePublications or library catalog

  • Fee-based service; $5.00 per article for MCG community

  • Must register to create personal/department account