|
Register with the Library
All MCG users must be registered with the library to access electronic resources away from the Augusta Campus.
- Faculty and staff: contact the Library Information Center 706-721-3441.
- Students and residents: verify library registration by logging on to your "My GIL Account" at the online catalog https://gil.mcg.edu/ with your PULSE student ID (in the "patron barcode" field) and last name. If the logon to your library "My GIL Account" is unsuccessful, contact the Library Information Center.
Retrieve the Off-Campus Password to access Library resources away from the Augusta campus
Currently registered MCG Greenblatt Library patrons are eligible to receive the Off-Campus Password. The Off-Campus Password is used to access library resources away from the Augusta campus and changes four times per year.
-
To receive the password online:
Logon to your library "My GIL account" from the Online Catalog (https://gil.mcg.edu/) with patron barcode and last name. (The password is blocked in the GIL account when fines or overdue material are present. If the password does not display in the GIL account, contact the Library Information Center to receive the password by telephone).
-
To receive the password by telephone: contact the Library Information Center 706-721-3441.
-
By obtaining this password, you agree to not share the password with unauthorized users and to use library resources in accordance with copyright and licensing agreements.
-
Some licenses for a few specific resources may require an additional username and password for access. Contact the Library Information Center for the extra password information.
Start at the Greenblatt Library home page
Most
searching begins with resources in the Quick Links area of the library home page containing medical databases or online textbooks. Many of the library's subscribed databases search results are linked to full-text documents with "FindIt@MCG" buttons.
Search is more than Google--find the best quality information for learning, patient care, and safety by first checking the Responsible Literature Search pages. The most-requested databases are in the "Quick Links" box:
Other Quick Links databases include:
- GALILEO: portal to many databases that index resources across many disciplines.
- Micromedex: drug and disease information.
- STAT!Ref, ("Ovid") Books@Ovid: online textbooks (see also eBooks under Resources).
- Web of Knowledge: scientific, technical, and medical index with Web of Science citation linking (measures journal citation values).
Search help from the library
The library or its database vendors create tutorials to demonstrate how to search the most requested databases such as PubMed, ("Ovid") MEDLINE, CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
When online tutorials or web pages are not enough help:
MCG faculty may arrange for a librarian to teach search skills to a class at an off-site MCG campus, or from a smart classroom on the Augusta campus, or through pre-recorded classroom management software.
-
Contact the Library Information Center for immediate assistance 706-721-3441.
-
Contact medical librarians through the Ask-A-Librarian service to answer questions by email within twenty-four hours excepting weekends and holidays.
-
Many distance students periodically visit the Augusta campus and may schedule an appointment with a librarian to review search skills and strategies.
-
Librarians may also perform comprehensive mediated literature searches for a fee.
Finding full-text documents
Many of the library subscribed documents, electronic and print, are connected to database search results with "FindIt@MCG" links. When the document source is known, go to the Quick Links box: ePublications lists all electronic journals and eBooks lists all electronic books subscribed by the library.
MCG patrons can use the GIL
Universal Catalog to search for a circulating book from another
University System of Georgia library; that book may be borrowed
for free through the GIL Express service, by walk-up (in-person borrowing) or remotely (online through the
Universal Catalog). Document delivery is also available through the fee-based MCGILL service.
Off-Campus distance education students, faculty, and staff should also view the Distance Education web pages or contact the Outreach Librarian 706-721-9903 for assistance.
Other services The IT Service Desk is located in the library for assistance with computing questions 706-721-4000. |