According
to the Medical College of Georgia’s Office of Institutional
Research, sixty-five percent of MCG living alumni reside in Georgia.
MCG Alumni are encouraged to use the following resources to meet
their health information needs.
The Library Information Center (706-721-3441) can refer alumni to
specific assistance with many of the Library’s resources and
services. MCG graduates wishing to conduct research in the Library have access to many of the Greenblatt Library's resources.
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The National
Library of Medicine has resources for the health professional and the public.
Health databases such as MEDLINE
Human
genome information
Environmental
health and toxicology databases
Bibliographies on current medical topics
MedlinePlus consumer health site
Search NLM databases - PubMed MEDLINE, NLM Gateway, SIS
PubMed MEDLINE provides access to the National Library of Medicine’s
free MEDLINE database containing over 15 million medical literature
NLM
Gateway allows searching of multiple databases including MEDLINE, clinical
trials, organizational directory (DIRLINE), toxicology information
(TOXLINE), genetic home reference and hazardous substances data.
SIS (Specialized Information Services) – covers some of the NLM
Gateway databases along with other databases in toxicology,
environmental health, chemistry, and HIV/AIDS.
Document
Delivery from NLM’s Loansome Doc
Loansome
Doc fee-based document delivery service for medical
journal literature located in MEDLINE ordered through the Medical
College of Georgia’s Document Delivery department.
Contact
the library’s Document
Delivery service (706-721-6374) to establish a Loansome
Doc account this account allows the order of full-text documents from PubMed
MEDLINE search results.
Consult the Document
Delivery schedule for Loansome Doc service fees.
GALILEO
GALILEO
– (GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online) Georgia’s web-based
virtual library, with access to licensed products such as MEDLINE,
CINAHL (nursing and allied health medical literature), consumer
health, and patient handout resources. All public library patrons in
Georgia have access to health-related databases in GALILEO and can
request a password from their public library to access the databases
from home or practice setting.
GALILEO
licensed resources include:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
– (nursing and allied health literature)
Health
Source: Nursing / Academic (nursing and allied health literature)
Health
Source: Consumer (consumer literature)
Alt
HealthWatch (complementary and alternative medicine literature)
WorldCat:
list of books and journals at over 9,000 libraries world-wide
Some
useful links in GALILEO to other non-licensed resources:
Find Books and Media
GIL@MCG
is the online catalog for books, media, and print journals at the
Greenblatt Library.
Librarians
are available to assist alumni in locating library material beyond
the Greenblatt Library collections.
Find Information on the Web
The
Library selects and maintains links to high-quality websites at Web
Links (partial list below):
Greenblatt Library Special Collections
The Robert
B. Greenblatt, MD Library Historical Collections & Archives
- contains the 19th century library, the Landmarks in Modern
Medicine collection, several museum items and artifacts, the
Greenblatt Archive, and a variety of Medical College of Georgia
institutional publications
Contact
Historical Collections & Archives (706-721-3444) for assistance with historical or
University archives.
Printing
& Photocopying @ Greenblatt Library
Public-access
computer printing: $0.10 per page
-
Self-service
photocopying: $0.15 per page
Payment
for printing and photocopying:
- cash
(nickels, dimes, quarters, or dollar bills)
PINES
PINES
- (Public Information Network for Electronic Services) is the
lending network for 249 public libraries in 123 counties. All
Georgians can use the PINES network to borrow books delivered free
to their PINES public library.
-
Contact
a PINES public library to obtain access to books from a public
library network of 249 libraries in Georgia. A searchable PINES map
and pdf
PINES map
will help locate the nearest participating PINES library. Use the
PINES
online catalog
to locate books that can be delivered to your home public library
free of charge.
For more information on Alumni Services at MCG, please see the MCG
Alumni Affairs website. |